Security Settings on your computer
Windows now has some security settings that were not present in previous versions of Windows, and might block Payroll Pro if Payroll Pro is in the Program Files folder instead of the default folder C:\PayPro. This happens with other software too - not just Payroll Pro.
So if Payroll Pro is in a sub folder of the Program Files folder
- for example C:\Program Files\PayPro -
and you have problems, then please consider the following suggestions:
We strongly suggest you have an IT person do this for you.
Option 1 - Move Payroll Pro out of Program Files
The best solution is to move Payroll Pro out of Program Files and into a folder on the C: drive.
- Move from C:\Program Files\PayPro
- To C:\PayPro.
Usually this is just a matter of copying the PayPro folder in Program Files and pasting it onto the C: drive, with a couple of additional steps outlined below. We strongly suggest you get an IT person to do this for you if you do not feel comfortable doing it yourself:
- After the PayPro folder has been moved, setup a new shortcut on your desktop to point to the new location - for example C:\PayPro\Payroll.exe.
- If you copied the PayPro folder and still have the old copy in Program Files, rename the old PayPro folder which is still in Program Files - eg rename PayPro to PayProOld so you end up with something like C:\Program Files\PayProOld
- Run Payroll Pro using the new shortcut. You may receive a message saying that the location of the data cannot be found, with two options - cancel and continue. Click "Continue".
- The data selection window will now appear, and the "Main Payroll Data Folder" should now show the new location - ie without the "Program Files".
- Everything should now work correctly, and you can delete the old PayPro folder out of the Program Files folder to tidy things up.
Option 2 - Change Security Settings
If moving the payroll is not an option, you may need to get an IT person to check the security settings to see if they are causing problems. This may be as simple as changing the account settings for the person logging on to the computer.